top of page


External technical on-site assistance in the IPA III Beneficiaries and the Southern Neighborhood countries

Overall ​objective 

The overall objective of this programme is to provide civil protection technical support to the beneficiary countries and DG ECHO. It will contribute to a smooth implementation of the civil protection cooperation programmes such as the IPA-CARE and the prevention, preparedness and response to natural disasters in Southern Neighbourhood (PPRD Mediterranean) and enhance their regional impact in the beneficiary countries. It will provide technical assistance where the main national authorities and stakeholders meet obstacles and difficulties.

Specific objectives 

  1. To support with a mid and long term perspective the partner countries' respective civil protection authorities with on-site technical assistance, which will be available in the whole region (meetings, workshops, trainings) and also on short notice.

  2. Support building sustainable capacities of partner countries' respective civil protection institutions for disaster risk prevention, preparedness and response based on a multi-hazard approach and interactions with the Union Civil Protection Mechanism (UCPM).

  3. Strengthen technical cooperation at sub-regional and regional level between all relevant governmental actors and civil society stakeholders as well as the scientific community, promoting an inclusive approach to prevention, preparedness and response to natural and man-made disasters.

  4. Enhance technical regional and sub-regional coordination, institutional and operational cooperation in the Southern Neighbourhood countries and IPA III beneficiaries regarding the Union Civil Protection Mechanism (UCPM).


Implementing partner

Business and Strategies in Europe SA (B&S Europe), based in Brussels,

member of the GOPA Consulting Group.

Partner Countries

IPA III beneficiaries:

Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Kosovo*, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia and Türkiye

Southern Neighbourhood:

Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine** and Tunisia. Mauritania as part of the Union for the Mediterranean is also included in the scope of the study.

*This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244/1999 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence.

** This designation shall not be construed as recognition of a State of Palestine and is without prejudice to the individual positions of the Member States on this issue.

Capture d’écran 2023-08-27 à 13.02.29.png
bottom of page